News ≫ Sri Lanka take on West Indies in ICC Women’s Championship

Sri Lanka take on West Indies in ICC Women’s Championship

Oct 13, 2017
Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Email
The second edition of the ICC Women’s Championship gets underway with the series between the Windies and Sri Lanka in Trinidad from 11 to 15 October amid rising expectations after the success of the first cycle from 2014-16 won by Australia.

With players, administrators and officials all giving credit for a rise in the standard of women’s cricket to this eight-team tournament which ensures series against each of the other sides, the championship is likely to come more into focus in this cycle that will culminate in 2020.

The tournament will be played on the same format as the inaugural edition which was held from 2014-16, with all eight sides – Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the Windies – taking on each other in series of three ODIs on a home or away basis.

World Cup 2021 hosts New Zealand and the three other top teams from this championship will gain direct qualification for women’s pinnacle event while the remaining sides will get a second chance through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2021 (details to be announced in due course).

Latest News