News ≫ Murali to be inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Murali to be inducted into ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

Jul 27, 2016
Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Email
The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced today that Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan will be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.
He is the first Sri Lankan to be accorded the honour.
Twice ICC Women’s World Cup winner and former Australia women’s captain Karen Rolton, Arthur Morris, a member of Don Brandman’s ‘Invincibles’ and England’s George Lohmann – the 19th century fast bowler who took 100 wickets in 16 Tests will be inducted alongside Muralitharan.
Family members will represent Lohmann and Morris at the ceremony, the ICC said.
ICC Chief Executive David Richardson congratulated the four, saying: “The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognises some of the truly great players from cricket’s long and illustrious history, and this year’s inductees thoroughly deserve to be in this highly prestigious group.”
“Muralitharan has been one of the greats of the modern era. His guile and consistency over the years helped Sri Lanka develop as a very competitive side in both Tests and ODI cricket.”
Murali is the current record wicket-taker in the Test and ODI formats of the game.

Latest News