News ≫ Thilanga Sumathipala elected Sri Lanka Cricket President

Thilanga Sumathipala elected Sri Lanka Cricket President

Jan 7, 2016
Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Email
Deputy Speaker of Sri Lanka’s parliament Thilanga Sumathipala has been elected as the president of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) after defeating Nishantha Ranatunga.Sumathipala, who served as the president of the board in the past, received 88 votes, while Nishantha was able to gather only 56 votes. Former Sri Lankan captain Arjuna Ranatunga lost the election for the position of vice president with Jayantha Dharmadasa and K Mathivanan standing as victors.The post of secretary was secured by Mohan de Silva, who was elected unopposed after the withdrawal of Hirantha Perera. Shammi Silva, who is the president of the Colombo Cricket Club was elected as the treasurer after defeating Easman Narangoda. Ravin Wickremaratne and Lalith Rambukwella were elected as assistant secretary and assistant treasurer respectively after defeating Nilantha Ratnayake and Nihal Lewke. Sumathipala revealed that the first task of the newly elected SLC office bearers will be to select and appoint a coach for the national team. “Our first priority is the national team and to appoint a national coach, Everything else like development and domestic structures can wait but the national team cannot. We are already behind schedule and we have wasted a lot of time, energy and efforts.

Latest News