News ≫ Dr. Kanagasundrem, among British-Sri Lankans recognized in Queen’s Honor List

Dr. Kanagasundrem, among British-Sri Lankans recognized in Queen’s Honor List

Jan 11, 2021
Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkedIn Email
Colombo (News 1st); Several British-Sri Lankans were among those enlisted in the Queen’s 2021 New Year honors list which recognizes the outstanding achievements of people in the United Kingdom. Dr Shikandhini Kanagasundrem, Professor Ravi Silva, Professor Mohan Edirisinghe, Professor Ramani Moonesinghe, Gajan Wallooppillai, , and Mohamed Hazrath Haleem Ossman were conferred the Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) award.

Dr Shikandhini Kanagasundrem (Dr ‘Shico’ Visuvanathan), was recognized in the Queen’s 2021 New Year Honours list, for outstanding services in Microbiology and Infection Prevention & Control, particularly during the coronavirus pandemic in the U.K. She went on to specialize in Medical Microbiology at University College Hospital London, and completed her MD (Doctor of Medicine), MSc in Clinical Microbiology, and FRCPath (Fellowship of the Royal College of Pathologists)

With the support of the Infection Prevention and Control team, Dr Kanagasundrem has led and controlled the Hospital’s response to many infection challenges.

Speaking to News 1st, Dr Kanagasundrem said: “I am humbled and very proud to be awarded an MBE. It is a reflection of the wonderful infection prevention and control team and microbiology team I work with, and the hard work put in by clinical colleagues and senior management alike during this pandemic. I would also like to thank everyone who has supported me in my career, both colleagues past and present, and my family.”

Professor Ravi Silva, Director, from the Advanced Technology Institute, University of Surrey received a CBE for his outstanding services to Science, Education and Research over the last three decades, with contributions that extend around the world. Prof. Silva has conducted major research activities in China, India, Sri Lanka and the UK.

Professor Mohan Edirisinghe who was conferred the OBE holds the Bonfield Chair of Biomaterials in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at University College London (UCL). Prof. Edirisinghe has been in the forefront of developing new methods to manufacture advanced materials, particularly in healthcare.

His patented technology for producing micro-bubbles and nanoparticles has enabled the manufacture of whole new drug delivery systems.

Professor Ramani Moonesinghe is Professor of Perioperative Medicine and Consultant Anaesthetist, University College London. She receives the OBE for services to Anaesthesia, Perioperative and Critical Care.

In her NHS England role, Professor Moonesinghe was the clinical lead for the national critical care response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Gajan Wallooppillai, a former Conservative councillor in Richmond received the OBE for services to Equality and Community Cohesion.

A former local councillor in the Royal Borough of Kingston-Upon-Thames, he is currently a Special Advisor to the Conservative Party Chairman and the party’s International Secretary. Mohamed Hazrath Haleem Ossman received the OBE for services to the Sri Lankan community in the UK (London, Greater London). An old boy of S. Thomas College, he is an accountant by profession with businesses in the UK and Sri Lanka and an active member of the Sri Lanka Islamic (UK) Association.

The Queen’s New Years Honors List recognizes the achievements and service of extraordinary people across the United Kingdom.

Latest News